Alaska = Freedom
Documents of

About Us About Us
Advertising Advertising
Archive Archive
Art & Literature Art & Literature
Classifieds Classifieds
Commentary Commentary
Contact Us Contact Us
Guestbook Guestbook
Guest Forum Guest Forum
Headline News Headline News
Letters to the Editor Letters to the Editor
Opinion Poll Opinion Poll
Our Links Our Links
Quotations Quotations
Trading Post Trading Post
Home Home


First National Motto:
"E Pluribus Unum"

On July 4, 1776, our first Independence Day, the Continental Congress passed a resolution authorizing a committee including Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and John Adams to research and devise a National Motto as well a seal for their new Nation. On September 9th Congress gave that new Nation a name, calling it the "United States". During that meeting the motto "E Pluribus Unum" was generally accepted as the Nation's motto, though the official vote did not occur until later. Likewise, the adoption of a National Seal would not occur until much later.

Current National Motto:
"In God We Trust"

On July 30, 1956 the Congress and President Eisenhower agreed to declare the words "In God We Trust" to be designated as the "national motto of the United States." (Title 36, Chapter 10, 186).


Golden Rule | Mayflower Compact | Declaration of Independence | U.S. Constitution & Amendments | Bill of Rights | Emancipation Proclamation | National Motto | 13th Amendment | 14th Amendment | Privacy Act of 1974 | FOIA | Alaska Open Meetings | Thinking Man's Guide to Ballot Initatives | Defeating Bond Issues

Proud to be Alaskan
Web Alaska Copyright © 2006. All Rights Reserved